Unbroken Ground

Unbroken Ground Chris Malloy Film Patagonia Provisions

Unbroken Ground is a new film by surfer-rancher Chris Malloy that explores the effect of modern agriculture on our planet.The beautifully shot 25-minute documentary explores sustainable food concepts such as perennial crops, restorative grazing, diversified crop development, and selective-harvest salmon fishing. It was produced by Patagonia Provisions, which is the culinary branch of the Patagonia clothing company. Eating food made by Patagonia doesn’t immediately sound too appealing to me, but I like the concept. Patagonia has always been one of the most environmentally responsible companies and founder Yvon Chouinard is using his company’s influence to try to bring positive change to the industrialized food industry. I’m interested to see what they’re able to accomplish.

Unbroken Ground, as described by Malloy’s production company, Farm League:

Our food choices are deeply connected to climate change. In partnership with Patagonia Provisions, Unbroken Ground, directed by Chris Malloy, explains the critical role food will play in the next frontier of our efforts to solve the environmental crisis.

This film explores four areas of agriculture that aim to change our relationship to the land and oceans. Most of our food is produced using methods that reduce biodiversity, decimate soil and contribute to climate change. We believe our food can and should be a part of the solution to the environmental crisis – grown, harvested and produced in ways that restore our land, water and wildlife. The film profiles the pioneers in the fields of regenerative agriculture, regenerative grazing, diversified crop development and restorative fishing.

Watch the full length film and join us in finding a solution to the environmental crisis through food.


Unbroken Ground from Patagonia Provisions on Vimeo.

Alta Plaza Park

We randomly drove past Alta Plaza Park in Pacific Heights today and decided to stop. I’ve only been to here once before and it was many years ago on an extremely long and poorly planned walk home with the dogs from the Marina. I think we were on at Crissy Field watching the Blue Angels. The park covers the highest hill in the neighborhood and offers spectacular views of both the Bay to the north and the city in all other directions. It was the former site of a quarry in the late-1800s which explains the steep tiered hillside. I’d give the playground an 8/10 as far as San Francisco playgrounds go. There’s something for both old and new kids and it’s fenced in so no one wanders over the hillside.

Alta Plaza Park Playground View

Alta Plaza Park PlaygroundAlta Plaza Park Hat

Alta Plaza Park View San Francisco Bay Between Houses

Alta Plaza Park Buttercups Grass


Off The Grid Presidio Picnic

July in San Francisco always seems to be one of the coldest months of the year. The fog and wind are relentless and temperatures rarely rise out of the 60s. Today was no exception when we ventured to the outskirts of the city for the weekly Off The Grid Presidio Picnic. Held each Sunday in the former Main Parade Ground of the Presidio, the picnic offers food and booze from 30+ food trucks and booths, music, lawn games, and breathtaking views of San Francisco Bay. It’s a great way to end the weekend. This week, we tried Vietnamese beef brisket pho from Little Green Cyclo, Margherita pizza from Del Popolo, and Empanadas from El Porteño. All very delicious.

Off The Grid Presidio Picnic Del Popolo Pizza Food Truck

Off The Grid Presidio Picnic Sunday Lawn

Off The Grid Presidio Picnic Margherita Pizza Del Popolo

Off The Grid Presidio Picnic Food Truck

OTG Presidio Picnic Food Trucks

Off The Grid Presidio Picnic Beef Pho Little Green Cyclo

Off The Grid Presidio Picnic San Francisco Lawn

Off The Grid Presidio Picnic Empanada from El Porteño